Friday, March 22, 2013

PE - Volleyball's Worst Players


Today in PE (Physical Education) the topic was volleyball. I enjoy playing volleyball with a beach ball – I’m really good at it. But today, even though Kevin and I, the two best players in the class, were assigned to the same team, we still almost lost.
One reason we almost lost (and the main reason, too) was that three of our players, Suhani, Bradley, and Carmen, were really bad. If I could give them a rating, from 1 to 10, they would all get -∞s. All Carmen and Suhani want to do is sit around and talk. All Bradley wants to do is hit the ball every time, really hard. Frankly, I think if they weren’t playing, we would have won, even with the three-player disadvantage.  We almost lost because they got all switched to the front – we rotate clockwise – and they had to hit the ball the most. The back rank players didn’t even have a chance to help, because we had to stay behind the black line, and the balls were all flying in front of the black line. Bradley was trying to take the ball from his own front row teammates, while Carmen and Suhani talked, laughed, and danced, completely ignoring the ball! I call them “hyper-inactive players”.
Another reason we almost lost is that we were winning by a mile before our “hyper-inactive players” went to the front. We were winning 10-2, because Kevin and I had blasted the other team. Then, suddenly, it turned out the score was 10-9! Our “hyper-inactive players” had caused us to lose 7 points! And they ignored my yells to them about being attentive. They just stayed there, unmoving, until the ball hit the floor, when they picked it up and handed it to the opponent. We probably would have lost if the teacher didn’t announce that our PE section was over.
Our players in the volleyball game were simply unfair because the good players stayed in the back the whole time, while the bad players just ignored all the balls that were coming at them!

2 comments:

  1. "All Bradley wants to do is hit the ball every time" ... should be "is hitting"?

    It is hard to be a team player, let alone leader. You have to learn to deal with different people each with different agenda of themselves. One idea I would offer is try to make the best out of it. If they would like to talk, maybe suggest they can talk offline not during the game. Or let them talk to your opponents? For the individual who just wants to get on the ball himself, maybe show him some strategy so you can all play. It is hard and learning process indeed. But as always, try to make the best out of it!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I liked my details here. But it's true that they were "hyper-inactive". I get steamed just thinking about them.

    ReplyDelete